Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Author Talk & Book Signing with Mary Adkins

March 1 @ 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Free

Friday, March 1st, 2019 | 6:30 PM – 8:30 PM | The Book Tavern

Mary Adkins’s affecting epistolary novel, WHEN YOU READ THIS, hilariously and incisively explores the ties that bind and sometimes undo us. A dramatic romantic-comedy for the digital age—essentially the “Epistolary Novel 2.0” for readers of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell— this deftly rendered debut turns an age-old form on its head as it tackles some of the big questions: What should we do with the time we have left? Can we ever really know what someone else “would have wanted”? Can love survive, or grow out of, crushing loss?

For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness at only thirty-three. Adrift without his friend and colleague, Smith discovers that during Iris’s last six months, she created a blog filled with astute, often funny musings on the end of a life not quite fulfilled. And she’s made one final request: that Smith find a way to publish her posts as a book. With the help of his charmingly eager, if overbearingly forthright, new intern Carl, Smith sets to the task of fulfilling Iris’s last wish.

Before he can do so, though, he must secure the approval of Iris’s older sister, Jade, an haute cuisine chef who’s been knocked sideways by her loss. Each carrying baggage of their own, Smith and Jade end up on a collision course with pasts unresolved and with each other.

Told through emails, blog posts, online therapy submissions, text messages, and other snippets of our virtual lives, WHEN YOU READ THIS reveals the unexpected effects of grief and loss. With
empathy and warm humor, Adkins here revamps letter-writing-of-yore for our modern age, artfully mining the ways we choose to connect and communicate with one another today.

About the Author
Mary Adkins’s work has appeared in The New York Times and The Atlantic. A native of the American South and a graduate of Duke University and Yale Law School, she lives in New York City with her
family. She also teaches storytelling for the Moth. When You Read This is her first novel.

Visit the Facebook Event Page HERE!

Details

Date:
March 1
Time:
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/2055457641210907/

Venue

The Book Tavern
936 Broad St, Ste 101
Augusta, GA United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
(706) 826-1940
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/thebooktavern/